From SourceWatch
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Breakthrough "is an international human rights organization that uses media, education and pop culture to promote values of dignity, equality and justice" which "works through affiliate offices in India and the United States." [1]

People (accessed 2011)

Accessed December 2011: [1]

Board of Directors - INDIA

Board of Directors – USA

People (accessed 2007)

Directors (US)

Trustees (India)

  • Abhijeet Chatterjee has been a practicing lawyer at the Supreme Court of India for the last 14 years.
  • Bishakha Datta is a writer and documentary filmmaker. Her first book, 'And Who Will Make the Chapatis?' focuses on rural women's participation in politics and she is currently researching a full-length book on the struggle for sex workers' rights in India.
  • Sanjeev Duggal, currently serves as the Executive Director and CEO of a Bharti Airtel Services and Bharti Resources Ltd., with the mandate to create a performance oriented ecosystem for frontline personnel.
  • Sangita Jindal, Eisenhower Fellow 2004, is the founder chairperson of the Jindal South West Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the O.P. Jindal group.
  • Arun Kapur is currently the Director of Vasant Valley School, New Delhi, which he built from scratch into one of the leading educational institutions in the country.
  • Benu Kumar has been closely associated with the fashion industry for many years.


US Advisory Board

Indian Advisory Board

  • Micky Bhatia is a psychoanalyst in private practice in Mumbai.
  • Rahul Bose is a highly acclaimed Indian cinema actor.
  • Anjali Gopalan is the founder and Executive Director of the Naz Foundation (India) Trust, a leading community based organization fighting HIV/AIDS in India.
  • Indira Jaising is an advocate and the Director of the Women's Rights Initiative of the Lawyer's Collective, an organization she co-founded.
  • Gaurav Mazumdar is a classical sitar player of international renown.
  • Shantanu Moitra is one of India's leading music directors and recently won the 2005 Filmfare RD Burman Award for Parineeta.
  • Pankaj Pachauri is a senior editor and prime time anchor for NDTV/Star News.
  • Prasoon Pandey filmed the first Indian commercial to win at Cannes and has been listed among the top 100 advertising film directors in the world by Advertising Age.
  • Pramila Phatarphekar is a special correspondent with Outlook (India).




Resources and articles

Related Sourcewatch


  1. Board, Breakthrough, accessed January 10, 2011.